Research Databases
Looking for a listing of our print magazines/journals? Main | Health | North ![]()
Full-Text Medical/Health Journals on the Web
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
On-campus access only.
Emerald Insight
A multidisciplinary database that focuses on management, library services, and engineering.
On-campus access only.
JSTOR
Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated (PDF files).
JSTOR covers a vast area of disciplines, including literature, science, history, foreign languages, education, etc.
On-campus access only.
Magill's Medical Guide
Designed for laymen and written for healthcare consumers, the Guide is a perfect mix of accessibility and depth, providing general readers with an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professional and popular self-help guides.
On-campus access only.
NC LIVE
NC LIVE offers the citizens of North Carolina online access to a diverse collection of electronic resources including complete articles from over 16,000 newspapers, journals, magazines, and encyclopedias, indexing for over 25,000 periodical titles, and access to over 25,000 online print and audio books. [from the NC LIVE site].
Password required for off-campus access. Call the library for more information.
![]()
Salem History
The Eighties in America
Reagan, AIDS, the Challenger disaster, MTV, Yuppies, "Who Shot J.R.?" . . . The Eighties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this pivotal decade. Online access to the Eighties in America is available and serves as a valuable information source.
Milestone Documents in American History
A new series combining full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary - available with unlimited online access to all the "Milestone Document" titles in our collection.
On-campus access only.
Science Direct
Offers full-text articles on subjects including biology, chemistry, medicine, dentistry, nursing, and psychology
On-campus access only.
SIRS Government Reporter
Provides access to full-text government documents and Internet resources, including history, directories and almanacs, arts and humanities, federal procedures, international affairs, military affairs, domestic affairs, scientific research, etc.SIRS Renaissance
Provides access to full-text articles and Internet resources on current perspectives on the Arts & Humanities. These include, and are not limited to Architecture & Design, Culture, Literature, Multimedia, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy & Religion, Visual Arts, etc.SIRS Researcher
Provides integrated online access to full-text articles and Internet resources from SIRS reference databases. These include and are not limited to General Reference, Social Issues, Health, Science, Business, the Environment, Global Issues, Human Relations, Institutions, etc.
Password required for off-campus access. Call the library for more information.
Wilson Omnifile Full-Text
Offers full-text articles in education, science, humanities, law, and social sciences
Password required for off-campus access. Call the library for more information.